Imperial Fists – Finished!

Hey all!

Big day! After around two and a half years, the Imperial Fists are pretty much finished. I’m really happy with how the army has come up, and it’s definitely been worth all the blood, sweat and tears that went into it. In total the army can field 11,000 points of Horus Heresy goodness, which I’m very proud of.

Now, no army is ever finished, and most notably this army is missing Sigismund and Dorn. Dorn obviously hasn’t been released yet, but I intend to get him as soon as he becomes available. Sigismund is sitting on my desk however, waiting for some attention. I’m sure I’ll want to add other bits and pieces as well, but for now I’m calling it done!

Army1

So, time to figure out where to go from here. I have plans for several more Horus Heresy armies, however I think next up I’ll make some terrain for a new table or two. My existing terrain is ancient and frankly embarrassing to put on the table, so time for an upgrade!

Gallery below with more pics of the finished army. Click on them to see bigger pics.

Cheers guys!

This entry was posted in Imperial Fists, Imperial Fists WIP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Imperial Fists – Finished!

  1. Wow dude!! What an impressive sight!!!! I have lots of little armies on the go but have never thought of even attempting something this big. I’m in awe. Can I ask how much this cost? Approx? Forgeworld is far from cheap so my hat goes off to you for the investment of money time and preserverence. Can you take more photos please? Looking forward to seeing the new boards too. Could you post pix of the old ones too? Cheers.

    • rustymagos says:

      Thanks for the kind words!
      I never actually intended the army to get this big. I just had such a great time using the army in games of Horus Heresy that I wanted to include as many options as I could! I have no idea just how much the army cost. I bought most of it when the exchange rate was really good, which helped a lot. A lot of the army was also presents from friends and family, and in particular from my wonderful girlfriend (who is very supportive of my hobby). I was also working in a hobby shop at the time, so a lot of the marine tanks were bought pretty cheaply. Still, it would have been at least a thousand dollars over a period of about three years (probably more).
      I will definitely be taking more pictures, particularly when I’ve got some better terrain to take some tabletop and action shots on. Unfortunately I’ve thrown away all my old terrain (most was at least a decade old, probably older). I will make sure I take lots of pictures of the new stuff though.
      Thanks again for the kind words, it means a lot to me!

      • It helps to have a supportive partner hehe. It took me a while to admit to my wife that I like to collect build and paint little men haha. She loves it about me though and said its quirky and cool. My kids too think it’s pretty cool. They love how excited I get when I’ve painted a model in particularly pleased with. $1000 over a few years isn’t too bad at all. I was thinking at least a couple of grand. I love Forgeworld models but I can’t justify spending $130 for a 5 man command unit. Again, really impressive army mate. Thanks for sharing!

      • rustymagos says:

        Yeah, supportive partners are fantastic! My girlfriend loves that I collect miniatures because it means she’s always got something to buy me for Christmas/birthdays. I knew she was a keeper when she got me the storm eagle for valentine’s day!
        Yeah, I have no idea how much the army cost. It was probably more than that, but spread out over a long period of time. I also did a few commission armies and the money all went back into this army. But yeah, these days forge world is getting pretty damn expensive (doesn’t help that the Aussy dollar has tanked).
        Thanks for the kind words!

  2. Rictus says:

    Very impressive, you’ve done a cracking job with all that yellow armour. Dorn will finish them off nicely when he arrives.

  3. Arkhangelsk says:

    Glorious. Props on the army. It looks gorgeous. Will you ever look at a pot of yellow again? :p great photos, hope you can do a HH battle report against 11k of Iron Warriors perhaps one time with them all on the field 😀

    • rustymagos says:

      Cheers Arkhangelsk!
      I think I’ll shudder whenever I look at a pot of yellow again, although I need to hold out long enough at least to get Sigismund finished. Can’t have an army this big and not include him to lead it!
      Funny you should mention it, because a friend of mine is finishing off a 10k Iron Warriors army at the moment. As soon as he’s done we’re going to have a massive apoc battle, and I’ll be sure to write it up as a battle report and take heaps of pics!

  4. Wudugast says:

    Glorious! I am in absolute awe (I’ll even forgive you for being on the wrong side in the Heresy!) I think what I find particularly impressive is the degree of character that’s present in every model. Each one really looks like an individual so the whole thing really rewards close inspection. Perhaps my favourite thing in this hobby is an army that’s clearly been loved, crafted and added to over the years – I’m sure no matter how sick of yellow you might be now there’ll be other additions to come (apart from Dorn himself of course).
    Well done on getting it to this stage – a hearty pat on the back is well deserved. Looking forward to seeing it take the field, glad to hear you’ll be settling some scores with Perturabo ‘s boys soon!

    • rustymagos says:

      Cheers Wudugast!
      The army has certainly been a labour of love, and it’s always nice to have those efforts appreciated! I feel the same as you in that my favorite thing in the hobby is seeing well painted and well crafted armies on the table, nothing better! And I’m sure you’re right, no army is ever finished, including this one. I’m sure I’ll be adding more to it as time goes on. A great big yellow Mastadon when they are released sounds very tempting…
      Thanks again for the kind words, it means a lot to me!

  5. Bill French says:

    Congrats! I’ve been struggling with mine for even longer — and done WAY fewer!!! awesome!!!

  6. Pingback: The Betrayal At Calth | Convert or Die

Leave a Reply

