Reaver Titan – Carapace plasma blast gun

Hey all

Well the assembly of the reaver is pretty much finished. That being said, it’s still in many, many different pieces. I’ve left all the armour panels separate so they can be airbrushed more easily. Likewise, painting the miles upon miles of edging on the armour will be a lot easier with the panels unattached. The torso is also separated from the legs, and the weapons are all detachable.

Airbrushing has also started, with all the main sections completed. This is just the base coat, and I’ll need to go back in with the airbrush later to add weathering effects. But, it’s good to see some major progress.

I’ve decided to equip the reaver with a plasma blast gun. The warhound has had a lot of success with this weapon and I really wanted to get one onto the Reaver. While I love the look of the apocalypse missile launcher, I’m not convinced it’s that good in game. While the turbo laser is almost certainly the most effective option, I don’t want the reaver to be a laser titan of doom. I figure if it’s got a (slightly) friendlier weapon load out, there’s a little more chance of people being willing to play against it! Besides, I can always swap them out later…

I was able to source a second hand plasma blast gun from a friend of mine. Unfortunately it’s a mars pattern, which means the armour is lopsided (it’s designed to sit on the right hand side of the warhound). It’s also in pretty bad condition so will need a lot of attention to get it looking alright. So, some conversion work is needed…

This plasma blastgun was from a mars pattern warhound, and so armour panels along the right side of the gun had to be sculpted on to balance it with the other side

This plasma blastgun was from a mars pattern warhound, and so armour panels along the right side of the gun had to be sculpted on to balance it with the other side

Close up of the armour modifications

Close up of the armour modifications

My greenstuffing skills aren’t brilliant, but once it’s painted and in place it should be alright.

I’m not quite sure how I’m going to mount it on the carapace. At the moment I’m thinking of using one of the turrets from the vengeance weapon batteries. I’ve got one lying around, and the turret ring matches the reaver’s carapace weapon mount.

Next up is detailing all the panels.

Cheers guys!

This entry was posted in Titans, Titans WIP and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reaver Titan – Carapace plasma blast gun

  1. Ruins of Arotha says:

    That’s looking cool so far, am keen to see the final piece

  2. rustymagos says:

    Cheers!
    I’m curious myself to see how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

