Vulkan!

Something a bit different today, and a lot less yellow!

I was recently commissioned to paint up Vulkan, Primarch of the Salamanders. This was my first ever primarch which was very exciting! Vulkan is one of my favorites of the primarchs to be released so far, and rules wise he is an absolute monster! Unfortunately, since he isn’t actually mine, I’m far more likely to be fighting against him than with him, but it’s all in good fun.

Vulkan, Primarch of the Salamanders

Vulkan, Primarch of the Salamanders

Vulkan 2

Vulkan 3

Vulkan 4

Details of Vulkan’s base

Vulkan 5

Vulkan 6

Vulkan 7

Vulkan 8

Well, Vulkan was a heap of fun to do, and definitely makes me think I want a primarch (or several) of my own. Since Rogal Dorn isn’t out yet, I may have to just get one of the existing ones that I like the look of. The models are so good that I’m not fused whether or not I end up fielding them, although it wouldn’t surprise me if any I did get ended up with a small supporting squad or two.

Cheers guys!

This entry was posted in Primarchs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vulkan!

  1. Adranus says:

    Without a doubt – the best painting of Vulkan I’ve seen to date. If you don’t mind me asking – how did you do the red? (I’m hoping to replicate it on my own Vulkan)

    • rustymagos says:

      Thanks for the kind words Adranus!
      The red was a little thrown together and made up as I went along, so unfortunately I don’t have an exact recipe. But, I can give you the basic idea of what I did.
      The base colour was a combination of Khorne Red, Rhinox Hide and Xereus Purple, in about a 3:1:1 ratio. From there it was highlighted by adding in more Khorne Red, and then adding Evil Suns Scarlet and a small amount of Troll Slayer Orange. The scally sections were also lightly drybrushed with Screaming Skull. Once all that was done, I applied washes of Druchii Violet and the old Baal Red, as well as a little red glaze. The washes were mainly focused on the scales, with the glaze went over everything.
      Sorry I can’t be more specific than that, as I said I was pretty much experimenting with it as I went.
      Hope that is helpful for you and best of luck on your own Vulcan!

  2. Adranus says:

    Thanks for the help rustymagos, that’ll give me an excellent basis from which to work something out myself. I wasn’t all that keen on Forgeworld’s example of Vulkan’s cape and I was a little intimidated by the prospect of painting it, so when I stumbled across your red one, it did boost my enthusiasm towards the model somewhat. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

