Airbrushing Imperial Fists Tanks

So, this is as much for me as anything else, because I think its always a good idea to note down your painting techniques.

I’m gearing up for another apoc game, and this one is truly massive with an estimated 200,000 points. I want another batch of Imperial Fists tanks to join the fun, and thought I’d take some photos while I had the airbrush out.

So, the first step in how I paint the Imperial Fists tanks is to start with a white undercoat. I try and make sure that this is a consistent coverage, because it helps with the later stages.

Start with a white undercoat

Start with a white undercoat

Next, I paint the whole model Skrag brown. With this step, try and get a nice even coverage.

Paint the model skrag brown

Paint the model skrag brown

Now, I airbrush the model with tamiya flat yellow. This step is to establish the colour.

Airbrush the model with tamiya flat yellow. This step is to establish the main colour

Airbrush the model with tamiya flat yellow. This step is to establish the main colour

Still using tamiya flat yellow, build up the colour, focusing on the center of the pannels

Keep building up the yellow, still using tamiya flat yellow

Keep building up the yellow, still using tamiya flat yellow

Now, I use tau light ochre, focusing on the recesses. This is to add depth to the lowlights, as well as add warmth to the yellow. This is the trickiest step of the process, as the amount of tau ochre will have a big effect on the overall colour when its finished. This is also the step where it’s easiest to make a mistake, as having more ochre on some tanks than others will make them look quite different shades of yellow when they’re finished. I try and use just a very light covering, to add a bit of warmth to the end result.

Tau Light Ochre is used to strengthen the low lights and recesses

Tau Light Ochre is used to strengthen the low lights and recesses

After this, I often go back over the model with tamiya flat yellow, to clean up any areas where there is to much of the Tau Light Ochre.

The final step, is to airbrush a coat of casandora yellow wash over the whole model. This helps to enrich the yellow, as well as bring it closer to the GW yellows, which I use on the infantry.

Finally, airbrush casandora yellow over the whole model

Finally, airbrush casandora yellow over the whole model

So that’s it, the yellow on the Imperial Fists tanks. I find however, that the real trick to making the colour scheme pop is in the weathering. The weathering adds a heap of definition to the tanks, as well as add a lot of extra depth to the model. My tutorial on how I weather the tanks can be found here

Cheers guys!

This entry was posted in Tutorials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

