Heresy Armored support inbound

Hey all

With another apoc game on the horizon, I’ve decided it’s the perfect excuse to give the Imperial Fists some additional armored support. This is a group of tanks I’ve been meaning to do for a while now, so it’s a great excuse to get them onto the painting table. This selection of tanks is pretty much entirely designed for Heresy, and should give me a lot of flexibility in that format of the game.

I think in Heresy the Imperial Fists are a very versatile legion. Their special rules and unique units are good enough to let them focus on shooting tactics or more aggressive assault tactics, which gives them a huge variety in play style.

So, firstly, to help me when I decide to field more aggressive armies, is a spartan. I’m really looking forward to trying this tank out. Considering how tough tanks are in 7th ed, and that it has 5 hull points and can be equipped with flare shields, this tank is all but guaranteed to reach the enemy line, and once it’s there, can discourage 25 troops into their lines. It should make the perfect transport to spearhead an assault, and ensure an expensive combat unit can get to where it needs to go.

I also apologize for my foolishness in photographing white models on a white background…

Freshly undercoated Spartan for the Imperial Fists

Freshly undercoated Spartan for the Imperial Fists

Next up is a sicaran and a sicaran venator. The venator in particular strikes me as a simply amazing tank, and I suspect it will form a cornerstone of many of my future army lists.

A sicaran and a sicaran venator, both ready for paint

A sicaran and a sicaran venator, both ready for paint

My favored tactics at the moment regarding the Imperial Fists is to go shooting heavy, and as such a couple of basilisks seemed like a perfect addition to the force. Unfortunately the basilisks aren’t the forge world legion basilisks, but I still think they should look fine in the army. Also, I want them ready for the apoc game which means I doubt I would have time to get forge world ones.

Two basilisks for the Imperial Fists

Two basilisks for the Imperial Fists

And finally, a contemptor dreadnought. I’ve wanted one of these guys for ages, and think he should be a lot of fun both to paint and to game with.

A Contemptor Mortis for the Imperial Fists

A Contemptor Mortis for the Imperial Fists

So, next step is to get out the airbrush and turn these guys yellow. I’ve got a long list of stuff I want ready for the apoc game, so it should be an interesting challenge to see how much of it I can get through in the next month and a half!

Cheers guys!

This entry was posted in Imperial Fists WIP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

